Rivers Mermaid

My latest dress is Rivers mermaid, done in two/three months.

I had some troubles making it since it was a little bit hard to figure out what I wanted to make. Usually I start with a sketch but while I make the dress many thing changes.
This is what at the end I had.

I made a skirt some months ago, and since I’m working on several things at one time I didn’t take many pictures of wips. You can find a video here.

The skirt has gusset between each panel to make it a little bit wider: these were done with two different fabrics. I wanted to have pink shades with irridescence, so I applied two layers of fabric (pink cotton and a pink organza).

Then I made the corset using historical patterns, which are XIX dated (dunno remember the right date). As regards the pocket hoops, you can find a sort of tutorial inside the youtube video I linked above.

Hope you like this dress!
If you’d like to support my work you can buy these sewing patterns here

Lascia un commento